Book Review: Because You Love to Hate Me

⚠️The prompts of each story may include minor spoilers, but I’ve tried to keep each review spoiler free! ⚠️

Release Date: July 11, 2017

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Anthologies

My Rating: 4/5 stars ✩✩✩✩

Synopsis:

Leave it to the heroes to save the world–villains just want to rule the world.
In this unique YA anthology, thirteen acclaimed, bestselling authors team up with thirteen influential BookTubers to reimagine fairy tales from the oft-misunderstood villains’ points of view.
These fractured, unconventional spins on classics like “Medusa,” Sherlock Holmes, and “Jack and the Beanstalk” provide a behind-the-curtain look at villains’ acts of vengeance, defiance, and rage–and the pain, heartbreak, and sorrow that spurned them on. No fairy tale will ever seem quite the same again!
Featuring writing from . . .
Authors: Renée Ahdieh, Ameriie, Soman Chainani, Susan Dennard, Sarah Enni, Marissa Meyer, Cindy Pon, Victoria Schwab, Samantha Shannon, Adam Silvera, Andrew Smith, April Genevieve Tucholke, and Nicola Yoon
BookTubers: Benjamin Alderson (Benjaminoftomes), Sasha Alsberg (abookutopia), Whitney Atkinson (WhittyNovels), Tina Burke (ChristinaReadsYA blog and TheLushables), Catriona Feeney (LittleBookOwl), Jesse George (JessetheReader), Zoë Herdt (readbyzoe), Samantha Lane (Thoughts on Tomes), Sophia Lee (thebookbasement), Raeleen Lemay (padfootandprongs07), Regan Perusse (PeruseProject), Christine Riccio (polandbananasBOOKS), and Steph Sinclair & Kat Kennedy (Cuddlebuggery blog and channel).

Because this book is an anthology, this review will be a bit different from my other reviews. Overall, I give the whole book four stars. But I’m also going to do a mini review on each of the 13 stories in the book!

The Blood of Imuriv by Renée Ahdieh

Prompt by Christine Riccio: The Grandson of an Evil, Matriarchal Dictator Who Tried to Rule over the Universe Wants to Follow in Her Footsteps and Accidentally Loses His Temper, Killing His Sibling in a Game of Chess

3/5 stars ✩✩✩

Overall, this one was good, it just needed a few hundred more pages to it. 😆 It’s a little hard to understand the history and politics of the world this story is set in at first. I finally started to understand it a bit and then it just ended. I think an entire novel like this would be great!

Jack by Ameriie

Prompt by Tina Burke: “Jack and the Beanstalk” meets Phalaris of Agrigento

3.5/5 stars ✩✩✩

In most of the reviews I’ve read, almost everyone hated this story. And while it’s definitely not one of my favorites in the book, I thought it was kind of interesting! Even though it was only about 24 pages long, the pacing made it feel like a longer story, which I liked. I enjoyed reading it and I wasn’t expecting that ending! 😧 Most of the other stories I liked in this book left me wishing that they were longer, but I was satisfied with the ending of Jack.

Gwen and Art and Lance by Soman Chainani
Prompt by Samantha Lane: A Modern-Day Mash-Up of the King Arthur Legend and Persephone-Hades Myth

1/5 stars ✩

The prompt for this story had so much potential!!! But it was just bad. First of all, it’s written in text messages. I think I could have given this story two stars if it weren’t written the way it is. It was probably necessary for it to be written in texts so that the whole story could fit on 30 something pages, though. 😣 Also, I just didn’t really care for the plot– it’s basically just a bunch of high school drama.

Shirley and Jim by Susan Dennard

Prompt by Sasha Alsberg: A Young Moriarty

3/5 stars ✩✩✩

I don’t really have much to say about this one. I didn’t love it, but I didn’t hate it. It was alright. I haven’t watched or read much about Sherlock, so maybe that’s why I didn’t care for it.

The Blessing of Little Wants by Sarah Enni

Prompt by Sophia Lee: A Dark Sorcerer’s Motives for Seeking Immortality or Omnipotence

1/5 stars ✩

I didn’t hate this one like the other story I rated one star. I just found this one really hard to read and I didn’t understand it at all. I might try to re-read it sometime and my rating might go up!

✨ By now, you’re probably wondering Why did you give this book an overall rating of 4 stars?! Trust me, the second half of this book is so much better than the first! ✨

The Sea Witch by Marissa Meyer

Prompt by Zoë Herdt: What if the Sea Witch Had Previously Been in the Little Mermaid’s Shoes but Decided to Kill the Love Interest and Turn Back into a Mermaid Instead?

4.5/5 stars ✩✩✩✩

I loved this story! By this part, I was starting to worry that I wouldn’t really like this book, but this is where it starts to get good. If you’ve read any of Marissa Meyer’s other books, then you know she’s great at writing villains! The Sea Witch is no different. This story is only around 20 pages, but the way Meyer writes makes it feel like a whole book! This review may or may not be a little biased, because I love Marissa Meyer’s books and The Little Mermaid, but I think this is definitely one of the best stories in the book!


Beautiful Venom by Cindy Pon

Prompt by Benjamin Alderson: Medusa

5/5 stars ✩✩✩✩✩

Possibly my favorite story in this book. I don’t want to spoil the plot of this story for you, but it’s about how sometimes the victim is blamed instead of the villain. The next line might be considered a spoiler! The real villain in Beautiful Venom steals the main character’s innocence, so the main character is blamed for being too beautiful and attracting the villain’s attention, thus being turned into Medusa. If you’re just going to read one story in this book, I recommend this one.

Death Knell by Victoria Schwab

Prompt by Jesse George: Hades Wakes Up after Being Unconscious at the Bottom of a Well in Ireland

5/5 stars ✩✩✩✩✩

The writing in this story is beautiful! Death Knell was another one of my favorite stories in this book! I don’t even know what else to say about this story other than it was just so beautifully written. Also, I just loved the plot. This is also the first thing I’ve read by Victoria Schwab. BRB, I’m going to put the rest of her books on my TBR list!!!

Marigold by Samantha Shannon

Prompt by Regan Perusse: Erl-Queen Retelling in Nineteenth-Century London

3.5/5 stars ✩✩✩

Another great story. I was hooked from the first page, and I really liked the plot twist at the end!

You, You, It’s All About You by Adam Silvera

Prompt by Catriona Feeney: A Female Teen Crime Lord Concealed by a Mask

4/5 stars ✩✩✩✩

This was the first thing I’ve ever read in a second-person point of view, and I really liked it!

Julian Breaks Every Rule by Andrew Smith

Prompt by Raeleen Lemay: A Psychopath in a Futuristic Setting

3/5 stars ✩✩✩

I have mixed feelings about this story. I kind of liked it but I kind of didn’t? I liked the plot and ending well enough, but the writing started to get on my nerves around the middle of the story.

Indigo and Shade by April Genevieve Tucholke
Prompt by Whitney Atkinson: Beauty and the Beast: Suitor’s Revenge

2.5/5 stars ✩✩

I had high hopes for this one, because I LOVE Beauty and the Beast! Unfortunately, I was let down. It was interesting at first, but ended up being way to predictable. Plus the characters are super annoying. 😦

Sera by Nicola Yoon

Prompt by Steph Sinclair: Gender-Flipped God of War

4/5 stars ✩✩✩✩

Another one of my favorites! Ever since I found out that Nicola Yoon would be one of the authors in this book, I’ve been super excited to see what a story that wasn’t contemporary would be like from her! I wasn’t disappointed!

Finally those are all of the stories in Because You Love to Hate Me and what I thought about them! 😀 This post took a lot longer to write than I expected! Sorry if I gave one of your favorite stories a low rating, please remember that these are only my opinions!


BOOKSTAGRAM TWITTER |GOODREADS

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Because You Love to Hate Me

  1. “Death Knell”, “Marigold”, and “You, You, It’s All About You” were all included in the samplers they handed out at BookExpo and BookCon, so those are the only ones I’ve read so far, but as I’m a huge fan of both V.E. Schwab and Adam Silvera, the sampler was a definite win for me. I’m hoping to pick up a copy of the full book soon, and hopefully I’ll enjoy it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

